Visit Facebook
URGENT ORTHO CLINIC

Call TODAY!

Main Number:  (410) 337.7900
UM St. Joseph Spine Institute:
(410) 337-4882
Follow us
Leave a Review!

Testimonials for Dr. Brian B. Shiu

Average Rating: 5.0 stars (based on 15 ratings)

Leave A Review

Reverse Total Shoulder Replacement

First: Dr Tredinnick was very patient and took all tests and precautions to determine the extent of damage to my shoulder. Therapy, exercise, and rehab proved to painful due to the extent of damage.
Second:
Due to my age and tendon damage I was referred to his partner Dr Shiu to consider reverse total shoulder replacement. That surgery took place a little over one year ago. With covid concerns driving decisions I decided to rehab and exercise on my own after Dr Shiu provided all of the exercise routines. Progress has been slow but steady. This ordeal started in November 2019 and today I am in MUCH better shape than I was back them. Range of motion and strength are steadily progressing.
Finally:
I am 100% satisfied with the evaluation and courses of action taken by this medical team. I recommend them.

April 1, 2021
Larry B.

Carpal Tunnel Pain Relief

I had worked in a busy office my entire life & developed carpel tunnel syndrome. I put off even going to a doctor until the pain was so severe I couldn’t handle it anymore. My first visit with Dr. Shiu was a relief. His smile was friendly and he was very comforting, knowledgeable and he answered all my questions. He performed carpel tunnel surgery and all my pain immediately went away. The recovery was a breeze too. I highly recommend Dr. Shiu.

March 11, 2021
Debbie N.

Wonderful Experience

Dr Shiu was so great! He is wonderful at explaining and answering all questions I had for my shoulder surgery. He is extremely kind. He and his staff made me feel at ease. He did an amazing job and highly recommend. Thank you so very much!

January 12, 2021
Michele M

Dr. Shiu and Towson Ortho staff were phenomenal!

I had numbness, tingling, and weakness in my left hand. Turns out it was Ulnar Nerve Syndrome (cousin to Carpal Tunnel Syndrome). The nerve in my elbow was significantly compressed causing me to lose most function in my hand. From my initial consultation with Dr. Brian Shiu in the Towson office, I was treated with the best of care. Dr. Shiu and his staff made me feel comfortable and took great precaution during this pandemic. I eventually needed surgery in September. This went as well as it could possibly go. I was almost fully functional within a day. My follow-up appointment went well. And since the pace of my recovery was so fast, I did not have to return. I have had a few other procedures in my life. But, by far, this was the best experience. From his expertise to his bedside manners, Dr. Shiu is truly a superb physician. And the staff was so great through all of my calls and appointments, I have already referred the practice to a few people.

December 30, 2020
Sadaf R.

Superior orthopedic care

I have been to several Ortho offices in the past 55 years. Dr Shiu is the greatest and has the most calming explanation of the problem and solution. I would 100% recommend him. The office is so different than others. If you have a 9;15 appointment, you are seen at 9:15. The entire office staff is pleasant at the Towson location. Thank you for such great care

October 13, 2020
Robert G

Dr. Shiu is Exceptional!

I had a nagging elbow injury. Dr. Shiu explained all my options articulately and in layman’s terms. After progressively more treatments with no results, it was agreed that surgery was the way to proceed. Dr. Shiu explained every part of the procedure, as this would be my first surgery. He eased my anxiety and answered all my questions. The surgery and recovery have been great. Dr. Shiu and surgical team were awesome. Thank you. All my visits and surgery occurred at the Ruxton office in Towson.

January 28, 2020
Kevin R.

Really Caring

[Dr. Shiu] is really carin n a good dr

February 22, 2019
Diana P.

Thank You!

It has been a pleasure to work with you. Thank you very much for your time and expertise in caring for John with the surgery. We appreciate that you tried to contact Dr. Hou. See you soon in Bel Air. Blessings, — Chris F.

November 13, 2019
Chris F.

Recommend to Everyone I Know!

Can’t say enough good about Dr. Shiu and the entire team. From the first time I walked into his office and throughout surgery, post op, therapy and all aspects Dr. Shiu and his team has been amazing. I have and will continue to recommend Dr. Shiu and Towson Orthopedics to everyone I know.

July 23, 2019
Bill A.

Dr. Brian Shiu is the BEST!

DR. Brian Shiu is the BEST!!!

July 18, 2019
Antwan W.

The Best Doctor Out There!

Dr. Shiu was my husband’s Dr for a badly broken shoulder…he is the best Dr out there..kind, respectful….just a wonderful human being…We are honored to have had him as our Dr….husband is fully recovered thanks to Dr. Shiu’s devotion. Very highly recommend.

May 2, 2019
Debbie

10/10, Highly Recommend!

I was stuck in a jam this past winter, I was admitted to the Naval Academy, but I needed a medical waiver for my shoulder. I previously had 3 dislocations, an orthoscopic surgery, 4 more dislocations and I needed another surgery to finally fix it. Dr. Shui understood our time constraint, worked with us and performed a Latarjet procedure on my left shoulder. He was super efficient and 3 months later my shoulder is on the way to 100% recovery – I received my medical waiver from the DoD, and will be joining the United States Naval Academy this June. Throughout the whole expirence, Dr. Shiu was very personal and sincere with everything. Great Doctor, 10/10, highly recommend

April 27, 2019
Caidin H.

Really Impressed!

Really impressed with his interest in my nerve damage in my wrist and elbow. Gave me a shot of Cortisone in my wrist and relieved a lot of my pain. Scheduled for elbow surgery to release compression of nerves. A pleasant experience with Dr Shiu and his staff!

December 13, 2018
Tom S.

So Very Impressed with Dr. Shiu!

So very impressed with Dr. Shiu. We have seen Dr. Shiu many times over the last year and each time he has been caring and attentive. He helped my son recover from numerous athletic injuries and each time treated my 16 year old with honesty and respect.

November 26, 2018
Teresa C.

Bright, Knowledgeable, Caring, Cost Aware and an Exceptional Communicator

Bright, knowledgeable, caring, cost aware and an exceptional communicator who informs you of your health status and likely outcomes in a factual way that pulls no punches, but in an upbeat, caring manner encouraging a positive, effective treatment.

November 19, 2018
John L.

Outstanding Bedside Manner!

Dr. Shiu has treated my wife and myself for shoulder injuries. He is very knowledgeable, listens extremely well, is patient, and has an outstanding bedside manner. Thanks, Doc!

November 19, 2018
Edward D.

Office Locations

Dr. Shiu sees patients at the following Towson Orthopedic Associates’ locations:

Related Pages