Visit Facebook
URGENT ORTHO CLINIC

Call TODAY!

Main Number:  (410) 337.7900
UM St. Joseph Spine Institute:
(410) 337-4882
Follow us
Leave a Review!

Testimonials for Dr. Scott Tarantino

Average Rating: 5.0 stars (based on 20 ratings)

Leave A Review

THANK YOU, THANK YOU!!!

I had a torn meniscus in my left knee and Dr. Tarantino repaired that with minimally invasive surgery back in January 2014. That process was awesome, between Dr. Tarantino, his fellow, Ben Gardner, and the staff at St. Joseph Hospital Center. When it came time in January of 2020 for my Total Knee Replacement, there was no doubt in my mind where I was going…Dr. T!!! He has a wonderful bedside manner, explains every detail so you know exactly what is going on, and he doesn’t rush through your visit. I felt, as his patient, highly valued and as if I am the only one in the office! In this day and time, that is really something!! My experience for my TKR, from Nikki in his office, to the Orthopedic Pre-Surgical class at St. Joe, to the fabulous care by the staff at St. Joe, and Dr. Tarantino and Ben Gardner’s “pain protocol” was amazing!!!! If you follow the protocol to the letter, it will significantly reduce your pain levels and allow you to do the PT required to recover. I cannot say enough great things about Dr. Tarantino, Ben Gardner, and the staff at Towson Orthopaedic Associates!!

May 12, 2021
CHRISTINE M.

Great Knee Surgery

Dr. Scott Tarantino is the best! He didn’t replace my knee, he fixed it. He did say I my need a replacement in the future, but I’m very happy with my surgery. Great surgery. Fell asleep, woke up, went home. Doesn’t get any better than that! Great team!

January 29, 2015
Robert M.

Fantastic Group

Just had a TKR done by Dr. Scott Tarantino at St. Joseph’s Medical Center. What a fantastic group of physicians and associates! Dr. Tarantino came highly recommended by my brother (had a total knee replacement 7 years ago), and I am, without a doubt, glad that I went to see Dr. Tarantino back in December 2015! Although, I’m 2 weeks post op now, my knee is already feeling stronger and more supportive than it has been for a long, long time! My entire surgical experience has been awesome thanks to Towson Orthopedics and Associates! Thank you so much!!! I’m going to need to have my other knee replaced sometime soon, and am definitively having Dr. Tarantino, and the same medical professionals get me through the operative experience.
Also, the pre operative joint class is highly recommended to prepare you for your surgical hospitalization experience. Good job everyone, and thanks again!

January 21, 2016
Emily Guy

Wonderful Group!

Towson Orthopedic Assoc is a wonderful group! The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. After seeing several doctors, I have found great care at TOA with Dr. Tarantino. I’ve struggled many years with knee pain. At some point, I will need a knee replacement. Dr. Tarantino has provided great information and care to postpone the inevitable. I appreciate the time he spends and the thoughtful feedback on my options. I highly recommend Dr. Tarantino and the folks at Towson Orthopedic Associates!

July 21, 2018
Jane-Marie M.

Successful Knee Replacements

Dr. Tarantino has performed several operations on me. I’ve had both knees replaced by him and had great success on both of them. My wife and I have had several consultations with him. We have found him to be very knowledgeable and up to date in his practice. If you’re looking for an excellent doctor with a good bedside manner, consider Dr. Tarantino.

July 10, 2018
Jerry T.

Makes You Feel at Ease

Dr. Tarantino is awesome. He makes you feel at ease. Always listens. His staff is also excellent.

November 8, 2020
Pam D.

The Best!

Dr Tarantino is the best! In an age of assembly line medicine he offers old school, unrushed, personal professionalism. So glad I found him.

November 30, 2020
Scott S.

Fluid on the knee

This was my first experience with Dr. Tarantino and Towson Orthopaedic Associates. I was very impressed with the entire process (xrays, etc.) Dr. Tarantino was pleasant and informative, he gave me my options, I chose to drain the fluid. He told me to rest for two weeks and I’m happy to say I am fully recovered!

August 4, 2020
Kathleen D.

Better than New!

Dr. Tarantino replaced both knees and my right hip. My replacement parts are better than the originals. I will definitely see him for my left hip replacement. I highly recommend him.

March 27, 2020
Patient

Great Dr.

Very good communicator, very friendly and conservative in his approach. Great Dr.

September 19, 2019
Rick C.

He is a Blessing!

I could barely walk when I went into his office with a torn meniscus. After reviewing my x-rays and MRI he recommended aspirating the knee. The relief was immediate. I cannot say enough good things nor thank him enough for the pain relief he has provided me. He suggested holding off on surgery unless the swelling and pain return. He is a blessing to his patients. Thank you so much Dr. Tarantino.

March 27, 2015
Paul F.

Skilled Surgeon, Unparalleled Bedside Manner!

It took him about 30 seconds to diagnose my ruptured Achilles tendon. By the end of my first appointment he had an OR day and time schedule for the following day. He is a skilled surgeon and his bedside manner is unparalleled. The only bad thing about his office is the parking, Please, have someone drive you there and drop you at the door. It’s a bit of a walk on crutches from the parking lot to the door

September 19, 2017
Jermaine M.

The BEST!!

The BEST!! Did BOTH of my knee replacements! Saw him for 4 years PRIOR to the replacements for conservative therapy. He gave me advice on the correlation between weight loss, physical therapy, increasing muscle mass, and diet on joint disease. Dr. Tarantino’s bedside manner, font of knowledge, friendliness, and professionalism make him and the ancillary staff an excellent resource in the treatment of osteoarthritis and other joint problems. I recommend Dr. Tarantino along with his Physician Assistant, Ben without reservations. BTW, I am a RN, so I KNOW a good physician when I interact with one!

April 10, 2019
Anonymous

I Trust Him and His Judgment Implicitly

I saw Dr. Tarantino for the second time in 12 years. I am impressed at his conservative approach. He makes you feel like you are the only person he’s seeing today, not rushed and takes ample time to explain many nuances that I do not believe I would have been shared by the average provider. I hope it’s at least another 12 years, but if not, I trust him and his judgment implicitly, and will definitely return to him if the need arises.

October 24, 2019
Patricia T

Put My Needs First

Dr [Tarantino] was incredible and so honest! I tore my ACL and he recommended holding off on surgery because it was not a complete tear. He was confident it would get better without surgery and he was right! He did not want me to waste my money on surgery and put my needs first. I highly recommend him! Very knowledgeable and trustworthy! Can’t get any better than that.

September 25, 2018
Becky M.

Outstanding Surgical Group

This is my second surgical experience with Dr. Scott Tarantino and Ben Gardner, PA. This group performed my first TKR in January 2016, and my second TKR was recently done on [date] at St Joseph’s Hospital. Although, I’m still moving slowly, and have about 3 months of Physical Therapy for strengthening and ranging my new knee, my pain is so much less than before surgery. They cleaned out all of the bone on bone fragments, cartilage, and jagged fragments prior to installing my new knee. I could tell immediately that all of that “junk” was gone as soon as I walked with my implant on [date].
Couldn’t be more pleased with the care received by my outstanding surgical group! Thank you so much Dr. Tarantino and Ben Gardner💕

January 21, 2019
Emily G.

Great Experience!

Had my second ACL tear (opposite knee) this past February, went to Dr. [Tarantino] and had a way better recovery and surgery with him! Would recommend him to anyone! Great experience with TSM [TOA]!

September 25, 2018
Karli C.

Thank You!

To Dr. Tarantino, Staff and Towson Ortho — From “ME” and from “The Top of My Right Knee to the “Curve of My Left Shoulder and Bottom of My Right Hip–WE ALL” gratefully say Thank You. “WE” Very much appreciate your making it quite possible to plan forging ahead to take these lovely Baltimore Bones to recupe themselves in FloriDAYS Sunshine. Bring it on… NICE, Linda R.

November 8, 2019
Linda R.

Thank You Dr. Tarantino for an Awesome Experience!

I had my first knee replacement in February and was scared of the pain and recovery process. Following his pain regime I had a pain free experience. Since the first one went so well I decided to do the other knee in June. Again I followed his regimen and followed through with PT and had a very successful second surgery. My recovery was even faster then the first! Since I’m moving to Europe and my new lifestyle will involve much more walking, I wanted to have maximum mobility. Thank you Dr. Tarantino for an awesome experience!

July 30, 2019
Jean S.

Smart, Caring, Knows His Stuff!

I have had two surgeries done by Dr. Tarantino. I had an ACL reconstruction done with him 3 years ago and my knee feels great. My knee is more stable than my non-surgically repaired knee. I also had my meniscus trimmed in Jan 2018 and it helped fix the chronic popping in my knee. Dr. Tarantino is smart, caring, knows his stuff, and is not afraid to give you the reality of what is going on with you. If I ever required another orthopedic surgery, I’d go right back to Dr. Tarantino.

February 3, 2019
Bryan M.

Wish All MDs Were Like Him!

Dr. Tarantino is friendly, direct, knows what he’s doing. Wish all MDs were like him.

December 11, 2018
Bill H.

Office Locations

Dr. Tarantino sees patients at the following Towson Orthopaedic Associates’ locations:

Related Pages

Scott J. Tarantino, M.D. Bio